PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New To Jazz

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Jazz Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
t_mkelly

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 6:33 pm    Post subject: New To Jazz Reply with quote

Hello To All Board Memebers,

I am new to this board and Jazz guitar site. I am also new to Jazz guitar. All I can do right now is play rhythm major, minor, 7th cords.

I really enjoy listening to Jazz and would like to learn to play it. From what I have read so far one must learn scales and chord progressions. Where would be the best place to start to learn this style?

I also would like to know guitar and settings. I have a Washburn HB-30 semi-hollow and a Peavey solid-state amp. Everything I play through these sounds like rock and roll. Any suggestion?

I will probably be asking future questions and hope I do not offend any other board memebres.

We have a new smooth jazz station in the St. Augustine, Florida area and it has had a major impact on my listening preference of music.

Thanks for any help you can provide to help me get started on playing Jazz guitar.
Triumph

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 5:54 pm    Post subject: Recomendations Reply with quote