PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The Right Next Step

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> Chris Standring's "Play What You Hear" Course
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Grimm

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:33 am    Post subject: The Right Next Step Reply with quote

Howdy,

I'm new around these parts, and I found this forum partially due to my search for "farther reaching" jazz training for the home student. I'm not a rank newbie to jazz, but I've been away for awhile. The lack of conversation around this part of the board leaves me a little befuddled as to what to expect "specifically" from the course... A little about me...

I started playing music when I was young, around 10 or so (alto saxophone) which I didn't pursue as dilligently as I perhaps could have - I only dabbled in jazz and spent time "slacking" in school band. I eventually (by 16) moved off of saxophone completely for guitar, which I played a bit of rock/folk/bluegrass until I went to college.

I was a jazz performance major at a community college, unfortunately dropping out after one year - not from lack of interest. I did well, and my reading skills are fair in the grand scheme of things (which were initially honed by playing "school" music, and reiterated by college. I've lost a little but not too much).

I ended up playing jam oriented rock, a bit of prog, and then roots music with an emphasis on country/blues. I can't but feeling that I musically back pedalled...