PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Licks on Oleo-type bridge
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Jazz Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jj

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 8:45 pm    Post subject: Licks on Oleo-type bridge Reply with quote

Hi all,

let me introduce myself for my first post as non guest! I'm a 24-year-old English student in Lyon, France and I play mainly gypsy jazz but am interested in playing more modern, bop-oriented music.

Here's the question I'm asking all of you: what kind of licks do you play on an Oleo/I got rhythm-type bridge ie D7-G7-C7-F7? My problem is that I tend to play and actually think "vertically" ie D7 arpeggio or D mixolydian over D7 etc and would like to think more "horizontally" ie go THROUGH the chord progression in a fluid way. Basically it's my problem for all chord charts and it seems to come from the way I tackle gypsy jazz which a very triad/arpeggio-oriented style. Thanks for your help
jj
hugo har

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 2:45 am    Post subject: licks on oleo-type bridge Reply with quote

hi jj, I remember the joungnicholasˇ question about " my take on rhythm changes" I reply, B section, read it please. Oleo, I got rhythm, are rhythm changes. B section, playing "outside" with short phrases, obvious at first, knowledge of the harmony and play mixolidian up or down a half step.
take care, hugo har
jj

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote