PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Introducing... me!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> Hangout, Chat & Get to Know
View previous topic :: View next topic  
beglitis

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:03 am    Post subject: Introducing... me! Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

I've been lurking in this forum for quite some time and I thought it would be a good idea to introduce myself. Very Happy

I've been playing guitar for a few years, actually it must have been 10 years since I started, although I would say that I feel I haven't learned anything at all all this time. I bought a new guitar on impulse a few months ago, a Gibson LP Std, since I couldn't resist the temptation and the price was very good. Having such a fine instrument sitting next to my USA Stratocaster added insult to injury and made me pause a little bit and think about who I am to deserve such a nice equipiment and where I am going. The outcome was to decide to take my playing and music in general a little bit more seriously and stop being a couch potato and do something about it.

Until recently I didn't have a major interest in jazz, not because I didn't like it or admit its importance, but because it just happened. I came across the situation however where most of the books that are recommended to guitar players for serious study are somehow jazz oriented so I decided to start listening to jazz a little bit more often. Great music and it has definitely grown in me and it will grow more in the future.