PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Playing Octaves

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Jazz Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
darylcd

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 4:15 pm    Post subject: Playing Octaves Reply with quote

I've been playing guitar for 42 years, 20 of that spent on the road playing professionally. I've recently got back into it but my tastes over the last 20 years is jazz and that's what I'm playing now.

Long overdue, I've been working on playing octaves fluently and although the scales and patterns are coming cleaner and smoother all the time, I do encounter the following issues. My muted strings make more "click" through my amp than I would like. And when I'm muting the strings at the 12th fret, the harmonics tend to play.

Is there an electronic trick, such as compression, that will clean up what comes through the amp so that the octaves are clean. How the heck does Lee Ritenour do that so well? I never hear extraneous noise fom Lee's amp, just clean octaves, and that applies to most jazz guitarist I hear (Of course Lee does everything well, one of my heroes.)

Thanks for any advice.

Daryl Crowley
dkaplowitz

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Before you buy any compressors or noise gates, I'm just curious are you sure it's not the way you're executing the octaves?