PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Greetings

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> Hangout, Chat & Get to Know
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Oriondk

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 6:48 pm    Post subject: Greetings Reply with quote

Hi all. Thought I'd introduce myself. I haven't been here in quite awhile, years, as a matter of fact. This place as really grown. I quit coming here basically because there really wasn't much going on. It was pretty small when I was last here.
Anyway, my name is Dave. I started playing guitar when I was in the Army in the late 60's. I was in an army band as a trumpet player, not a very good one, I might add. That's where I got interested in jazz, mostly as a listener. I mostly started learning classical, but always wanted to get into playing jazz. Pretty much gave up playing in the early 70's after my daughter was born. Picked it up for about a year in the early 80's and screwed around with rock and blues. Then about two years started to get back into it, mostly focusing on jazz. Can't say I've progressed all the much. Took lessons for about a year, but the instructor wasn't really the greatest. Good player, just not the greatest teacher. I've got a decent grasp of theory, but just don't or can't put it to good use on guitar, at least not consistantly. Of course, working fifty hours a week doesn't really give me the time to work on music like I want, so I just look at it as a hobby, and try to keep it fun.
Oh, I did play with what they called the studio band in college, so I did get a little experience with jazz.