PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New Guy from New Mexico

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> Hangout, Chat & Get to Know
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ron45

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:15 pm    Post subject: New Guy from New Mexico Reply with quote

Hello and greetings. I'm 62 and have been playing for about 20 years on guitar, but played bass since high school before that, I'm a student of jazz and looking at some of the posts this group, I liked all the activity in the area of concepts and things to try over this or that chord.

My interests are recording and writing songs, learning about jazz improv, mountain biking, alternative building techniques, baking bread in our outdoor mud oven.

We built our own off grid adobe home in paradise out of dirt and trees. [ gotten in a USFS thinning program ] We operate on solar energy since 1983. I get on line with a six pair cable I laid myself [ down over the edge of the mesa we live on top of ] to a power pole about three thousand feet away. Before that we had no phone and for a time, hauled all our water.

`Never liked computers till someone mentioned you could record music with them. My first efforts with a pc and Logic Audio were six months of trouble shooting. Got a mac and Digital Performer and been at it ever since. This was in the windows 95 days. So things are probably better in the pc and Logic world these days. I make extensive use of BiaB and Jammer Pro for studying and as my band for solo gigs. I use a Kurzweil K2500R to play back my sample collection so I can have real sounding instruments to play along with. It makes a huge difference.