PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Reaching a plateau how to progress further?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Emerging Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sparkhall

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 10:15 am    Post subject: Reaching a plateau how to progress further? Reply with quote

I wonder if any of you more experienced players could give me some help. The problem is I feel that I have reached a bit of a plateau and am unsure of how to progress further.

I have been learning jazz guitar for a couple of years, I have got a reasonable number of chords down, am pretty happy with basic jazz blues progressions, can play melody or chords from a lead sheet reasonably quickly (reading not too bad now I have abandoned tabs!). Despite having learned modes of major scale and a fair number of arpeggios I struggle to improvise over a chord progression- can't seem to get beyond minor pentatonic over a blues progression. So my question is what should I do from here to develop my ability to improvise (when I get frustrated I start to wonder if I'm just not going to get it).

I find many books tend to be long on examples and short on explanation. For my sins I seem to need to know the theory behind what I'm doing, I tend to be a bit too cerebral about it perhaps.

Any suggestions of how to proceed very welcome.
Jake Hanlon

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how much do you play with other musicians?

www.jakehanlon.com

Debut Album Follow @ Itunes http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/follow/id406062013
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
sparkhall