PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Newbie here need some help
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Emerging Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pmgnut

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:35 pm    Post subject: Newbie here need some help Reply with quote

Hi everyone, nice to have a jazz guitar forum here. I am a total newbie and have some questions, maybe someone can help. Want to purchase a guitar but I am torn between the Ibanez AF75 and the Washburn HB15. Both closely priced around 350.00 to 370.00. { that, unfortunately is my budget} My favorite "sound" is Pat Metheny, and that is the sound or "tone" I want to play. Should I get one guitar over another that would help me achieve this kind of tone? { aside from the lexicon delays and such }. Also, when you buy a new guitar, what does "setting it up" mean? Thanks!
Alexo66

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would definitely go for the Ibanez. They are very popular guitars and are incredible for the price. Plus, Metheny's signature model(s) are Ibanez.

'Setting up' means to have the guitar adjusted to your specific requirements after purchasing, as it won't play exactly like you want it to out of the factory because everyone has different needs and perspectives on how a guitar should play/feel. I would get a good luthier to perhaps lower the action (if needed) and slap on some heavier gauge strings (11's or 12's) if your looking for the jazzier tone.
pmgnut

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote