PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Square one?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Emerging Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Brad Hedrick

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 8:18 pm    Post subject: Square one? Reply with quote

OK, here's my problem. After playing guitar and bass in various classic-rock, country-rock bands for an embarrassing number of years, embarrassing because after about 33 years of playing "at" guitar, you would think I would actually have some level of talent... LOL However, my musical tastes have expanded and matured over the years and I now find myself a jazz and standards fan.

I have been mostly self-taught and that may account for my lack of real talent... that notwithstanding, I still desire to play in this genre either with a combo or maybe as an accompanist to my own vocals. I have no desire to lead a trio or quartet since I have always been just a solid rhythm player my whole life and would be happy to just be able to comp along within a band setting, if nothing else.

I engaged a teacher a couple of years ago who basically wanted me to throw out all the knowledge I had of barre and first position chords and learn jazz chords the "proper" way. That meant doing away with chord windows and reading the music and playing these very difficult finger positions.