PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I am total beginner, is that alright?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Emerging Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sizla

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:10 pm    Post subject: I am total beginner, is that alright? Reply with quote

HI

I am hoping that this is the forum for a total jazz guitarist beginner?

I am into many styles---love many styles, which i hope will add flavour to my 'jazz' playing. I love flamenco, Blues, Bluegrass, Classical....etc

I would first like to ask. What is favourites type of guitar people who play jazz like?

Also right hand techniques. What is most common --I am not knowing . For example in flamenco the right hand is free for percussion and various techniques. I LOVE that and hate picks

Is it a mixture in Jazz

And I dont know whether to ask this here or another thread---this is first post. What is recommended i practice to get me started in Jazz guitar?

Presently--from yesterday in fact, I have created a soundtrack using these chords //Dmin7/Dmin7/Fmin7/Fmin7// and have been using both the Dorial scale over them and the Dmin7 Arpeggio

I noticed that using the Dorian scale over the two chords, some of the notes dont sound right on one of chords if you play then in wrong sequence. Why is that?
qwfu

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A reply from another beginner while we wait for the experts. I expect to be corrected.

Quote:

Also right hand techniques. What is most common --I am not knowing . For example in flamenco the right hand is free for percussion and various techniques. I LOVE that and hate picks