PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Lesson Time
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Emerging Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
burke1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:11 pm    Post subject: Lesson Time Reply with quote

I am currently taking guitar lessons again (my college instructor now gives private lessons at a store) and it seems that the basic 1/2 hour lesson goes by really fast. I am not a beginner, so I catch on quickly, and now since we are concentrating on Jazz, and just touching on classical enough to keep up on sight reading, it does not seem like enough time.

For those who take or give lessons, is a half hour the standard? What if the student is more advanced?
JakeJew

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Lesson Time Reply with quote

burke1 wrote:
I am currently taking guitar lessons again (my college instructor now gives private lessons at a store) and it seems that the basic 1/2 hour lesson goes by really fast. I am not a beginner, so I catch on quickly, and now since we are concentrating on Jazz, and just touching on classical enough to keep up on sight reading, it does not seem like enough time.

For those who take or give lessons, is a half hour the standard? What if the student is more advanced?

I know a lot of teachers in shops only do half hour lessons. But one time I took lessons from a Berklee teacher (to rename unnamed!) and they were frikkin expensive and only a half hour.

For me I'll give kids under 8 or 10 years old half hour lessons, everybody older than that gets 45 minutes, and students who are motivated and really interested in the guitar get an hour if they want to pay for it.
burke1