PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Jazz music on classic guitar
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Jazz Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
fiulin

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:11 pm    Post subject: Jazz music on classic guitar Reply with quote

Hello.
I'm a classic guitarist and I'm new to this forum.

Can you suggest me some nice jazz music to play on classic guitar?

Tks.
ES175

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ulf Wakenius is great!

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Jazz music on classic guitar Reply with quote

fiulin wrote:
Hello.

Tks.

Hi "fiulin"
Have you listened Joe Pass recording named "Song For Ellen"?.........great solo jazz guitar stuff on nylon strings! And what about Gene Bertoncini? His playing is beautiful, he lives in NY and mainly plays standards songs on classical guitar. Donīt forget Lenny Breau! I think you can get some links from this website, sure.
Maybe you can get some of these instructional books in your area, I really like all of them:
* "Jazz Guitar Etudes" by Alan de Mause (en each Etude, youīre getting ideas, concepts for sel-accompaniment, and fingerstyle techniques for playing solo jazz guitar)
* "101 Fingerstyle Jazz Guitar Licks by Alan de Mause (just licks for solo fingerstyle jazz guitar)
* "Solo Jazz Guitar" by Alan de Mause (original tunes for fingerstyle, it is a "in the style of..........." kind of book.
* There a couple of beautiful transcriptions of Bill Evans music for solo guitar, one of my favorites. The authors Sid Jacobs and Greg Stone. I donīt remember the exact books names right now................