PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Rythm help

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> The Jazz Guitar Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jlart

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 1:14 pm    Post subject: Rythm help Reply with quote

Hi Guys,

Have a request to you more experienced jazz players, Since I am new to the jazz playing style I been having difficulties in understanding and executing bebop/Swing rythms which is some sort of chopped 8th notes. If possible could someone record and post a simple 8th and/or triplets scale exercise or point me to some site where this material is avaible? I appeciate the help.

TIA,

JLArt
Wildfield

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This might be slightly off topic, but check out Emily Remler's Hot Lick's video lesson. Someone posted this on YouTube...here's a link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yiO3er5yHNo&feature=PlayList&p=28C20384C26994D2&playnext_from=PL&playnext=1&index=6

By the way, the link above seems to automatically proceed to several other Emily Remler clips (lessons and performances).

Emily's HL video covered a lot of basic jazz rhythm concepts. If you do a search on YouTube, you'll find other Emily Remler lesson clips. She seemed to focus a lot on rhythm and swing, so hopefully you will find something helpful from one of her lessons.

Good luck in your search for this kind of material.

Darryl
jlart

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WOW!! Emily could certainly jazz. The best Lady guitar player I seen in a long time. Like the the way she teaches too , so sad she passed away Sad.

Thanks, I hope I can get the full lenght video.

TC,
JLart
greentone