PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum
Jazz Guitar Discussion

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Introduction to a new member

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PlayJazzGuitar.com Forum Index -> Hangout, Chat & Get to Know
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Brad Hedrick

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:50 am    Post subject: Introduction to a new member Reply with quote

I've been playing "at" guitar for about 30 years now, mostly self-taught and mostly as a hobby. However, I have been in some local bands and played out at some decent venues with bands that we referred to as on their "way back down" tours. Our style was pretty much classic rock with a little country thrown in just for good measure. That being said, I was only a fair to middling rhythm and sometimes bass player. Recently I have become interested in jazz as a genre and am now pursuing that line of study. I remember back in high school there were some guys taking jazz lessons and I could never understand why since all I wanted to sound like was Peter Frampton or Don Felder from the Eagles. Now I find myself taking jazz lessons from a local teacher here in town. Even though I have a 1983 Les Paul (among other guitars) I still wanted to purchase a "jazz box" to help encourage my interest and enthusiasm for the new genre. I looked around and decided to spend a reasonable amount of money on an Ibanez af84e, it is a dead ringer for a Gibson es 125 and sounds and plays almost as good as my Les but with a decided jazz tone. I then purchased a new amp to further get the sound I was looking for and decided upon a Fender Blues Junior after scanning the boards on this forum. I have been a "lurker" here for several weeks and decided to come out and formally introduce myself. It looks like you all have a great group of supportive m